Minnesota Hunting License and Hunter Education Requirements

In order to purchase a Minnesota Hunting License, you must have a valid Minnesota Firearm Safety Certificate (hunter education certificate) if you were born after December 31st, 1979 and are 12 years of age or older.

Minnesota Hunter Education Requirement

Hunter Education is required for all hunters born after December 31, 1979 who wish to purchase a big or small game Minnesota hunting license. The minimum age to take Hunter Education is 11 years.

Minnesota Adult Online Hunter Education Option

The Minnesota DNR has now approved an online hunter education course for those students who are 16 years of age and above. The online course contains all required material plus additional material that is covered during the field day. Students who complete the course have the option of taking a field day, but it is not required to receive their hunter education certification.

Minnesota Small Game Hunting License

A small game hunting license is required for anyone 16 years of age or older who hunts small game in Minnesota. Youth 14 and 15 years of age can hunt small game without a Minnesota Hunting License provided they have a valid hunter education certificate. 13-year olds must have a firearm safety certificate and must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times while hunting. Children under 13 do not need a firearm safety certificate to hunt small game, but must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times. (Parents or guardians must have a valid hunting license if they are actively participating in the hunt)

Minnesota Big Game Hunting License

A Minnesota big game hunting license is required for all hunters 10 years of age and older. Those 13 and younger must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while hunting (parents or guardians require a valid hunting license to participate in the hunt).

Minnesota Wild Turkey Hunting License

A wild turkey hunting license is required for anyone hunting wild turkey. In addition to possessing a valid hunting license, children 13 and under must be accompanied by a parent or guardian while hunting wild turkey.

Hunter Orange Requirement

A person may not hunt or trap during the open season where deer may be taken by firearms under applicable laws and ordinances, unless the visible portion of the person's cap and outer clothing above the waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze orange. Blaze orange includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange within each foot square. This section does not apply to migratory waterfowl hunters on waters of this state or in a stationary shooting location or to trappers on waters of this state. In addition to requirements already mentioned a person may not take small game other than turkey, migratory birds, raccoons, and predators, except when hunting with nontoxic shot or while trapping, unless a visible portion of at least one article of the person's clothing above the waist is blaze orange. Minnesota requires 50% of a Camouflage Hunter Orange garment be open Hunter Orange.

Important Note

For a more complete listing of Minnesota's hunting license laws, hunting regulations, or hunter education requirements, please consult the Minnesota Hunting and Trapping Regulations Handbook, available from the Minnesota DNR or on the DNR website at http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/regulations/hunting/index.html.