New Hampshire Hunter Education Requirements

In New Hampshire, those who want to hunt with a firearm or bow may present a previous hunting or archery license or Certification of Completion from an approved Hunter or Bowhunter Education Course. Those taking the online hunter education must be at least 12 years of age.

New Hampshire Hunter Education Requirements - Youth Hunters

In New Hampshire, hunter education is not required for youth hunters under the age of 16. Youth hunters may hunt during all regular hunting seasons when accompanied directly by a properly licensed adult hunter who is at least 18 years of age.

The minimum age for youth to take a hunter education course is 12 years of age. It is strongly recommended that youth ages 12-15 take their hunter education certification so that when they turn 16 they will have fulfilled the required hunter education to apply for their first hunting license.

New Hampshire Hunting License

New Hampshire hunting licenses are required for persons 16 years of age and older. They are valid from January 1 to December 31 each year and may be purchased online, from license agents, Fish and Game Department headquarters in Concord, Fish and Game Region 1, 2 and 4 offices and some town or city clerks.

Get certified today, all online!

No risk, pay only when you pass!

Hunter Orange Recommendation

When hunting with a firearm or bow during the NH hunting season, it is strongly recommended that all hunters, except those hunting waterfowl, wear hunter orange clothing. This includes and hat, vest or jacket of hunter orange that can be visible at a minimum distance of 200 feet.

Important Note

For a more complete listing of New Hampshire's hunting license laws, hunting regulations, or hunter education requirements, please consult the New Hampshire Hunting Regulations Handbook, available directly from the New Hampshire Fish and Game Department or on their website.